For the Love of Amber

Almost three years ago I learned about amber teething necklaces when I had my first son.  I have read how a lot of moms weren’t exactly sure if the necklace was working but they all agreed that the necklaces are cute, and uhhh, I agree.  They’re adorable and make the babies look pretty stylish.  My already existing love for  Amber is similar to my affinity for Carnelian too so  I decided they weren’t just for teething and ordered all three of my children amber necklaces from Lithuania.  My two boys have the cognac colored beads and my teen daughter has the honey yellow strand.

image

We get a lot of compliments and questions about them and I generally don’t do much explaining as peoples’ eyes seem to glaze over as soon as I seem to I tread into the waters of New Age hooey.  With allopathic or western medicine being so prevalent it really is cumbersome to describe how something natural works as a treatment especially when it isn’t taken internally or rubbed in topically.  I find people are either offended, bored, disbelieving or all of the above whenever I start explaining anything.  Strangely enough they always ask, sometimes it’s the same people: “Oh I just love their little necklaces.  They are just too cute!  What are those beads called again?  Are they wood or…” I can scarcely remember the bland answers I’ve learned to give.  It’s usually some improvised nicety.

Interestingly, my father is a Christian minister and I have to speak very delicately of such things so that I don’t offend him and his beliefs.  I generally tell him and some of his church members that it’ Amber and it’s proported to help young children who are experiencing teething discomfort.  They seem to prefer the simpler answers.  One day my father happened to be watching some show on television where people were living in rural Alaska and there was a little girl wearing an Amber necklace. Hm. He called out to tell me about it once again amazed that I am not making this stuff up.  But, I digress, for now.

Amber is a resin from trees that is similar to sap but more substantial and therefore older, much more dated.  The thick darkness of amber resonates with personal body heat and vibrations and imbues healing properties as it sits on the skin over time.

Learn more about the physical origin of Amber from a botanical perspective here.

Learn the difference between tree resin and sap here.

Although Amber is a great way to relieve teething symptoms and calm irritated babies, it is actually awesome for all ages.

Here are some benefits associated with Amber:

• Boosts the immune system.

• Promotes solar personal power (solar plexus and internal energy core)

• Enhances circulation and chi flow thereby benefiting all chakras and body systems.

• Reduces inflammation (for little ones this helps the gums as well as their inflamed emotions due to irritability)
  
•  Accelerates the natural healing process by increasing circulation and energy flow.
  
•  Provides calming effects without the use of drugs.

 • Soothes pain (reduce or eliminate pain associated with teething, headaches, joint stiffness, etc.)

• Heals throat, ear and stomach irritations, as well as fevers and colds.

Along with a generally salubrious, immunity enhancing diet and lifestyle I like to think of their necklaces as a little added protection for my children like an amulet or talisman.  For me the aged wisdom of the trees is encoded in the resin and adds to my children’s auras.  Positive energy goes a long way in deterring more than fevers and the common cold.  Holisitically general good energy is a way to help ward of anything negative and unwanted and aesthetically, they’re still pretty cute.

AMBERKOU

Leave a Reply

